Pet Hoarders: How Many Cats Are Too Many?

30 Nov

Both women reeked so badly of cat urine, I couldn’t even close the exam door due to my eyes burning from the ammonia smell. When I asked these women some questions about the cat’s environment, they couldn’t answer how many cats they had. I asked, “10? 20? 60? 100?” Their reply? “Over 100.”

via Pet Hoarders: How Many Cats Are Too Many? | petMD.

2 Responses to “Pet Hoarders: How Many Cats Are Too Many?”

  1. Dianda November 30, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    My aunt has 7 cats, you would expect that the house would be smelly. But she cleans (and using the vacuum cleaner) everyday. The tries to clean the litterbox right after the cats have done her business, and her house is big enough for 7 cats.

    I think the amount of cats depends on the size of the house, and how well you keep your place clean.

    • animalartist December 2, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

      Dianda, I have 7 cats, and have had more, and people will walk in my door and take a good sniff thinking they’ll smell cat pee, but I tell them I don’t live in a kennel, my cats are happy and healthy, no need to hold your nose. Sorry it took a day to get your comment here–I have them moderated on this blog.

Leave a Reply

